The 1876 Stand officially named
Saracens is delighted to announce that following the vote with Socios.com, the brand new West Stand will now be known as The 1876 Stand.
The shortlist, which included The Richard Hill Stand, The Brad Barritt Stand and The Bramley Road Stand were all eclipsed by The 1876 Stand which had over 34% of the vote.
Lesley Mayo, who has been a season ticket holder since 1998 alongside her husband, suggested the name in the original poll and will be invited to join us at the Official Plaque Unveiling which will take place at one of the upcoming games.
The newly named The 1876 Stand is a tribute to the history of the club and will give fans of the club huge pride when looking back on the achievements over the last 145 years.
The stand, which is a focal point for the community includes 3,000 seats, ‘The W Club’ which is a first class hospitality experience, a Centre of Excellence for Middlesex University’s London Sport Institute, an Education Centre for the Saracens Foundation, Medical Facilities and a Community Garden.
Saracens Group CEO Lucy Wray said, “It was in 1876 that Saracens (Rugby) Football Club was first established by the Old Boys of the Philological School in Marylebone, playing their first ever game not too far away at Primrose Hill Playing Fields.
The club has enjoyed a nomadic existence since, but we are so proud to have now established our wonderful home at StoneX Stadium back in north London. The 1876 Stand will provide a constant and important reminder of our origins and history, whilst at the same time providing some of the most modern and impressive sports, education and entertainment facilities within professional sport.
We would like to thank our supporters for providing such an inspired and fitting name and we look forward to celebrating with them when we officially name The 1876 Stand.”